top of page

Yaesu, Icom, Kenwood or What !!!

When it comes to buying a Ham Radio or any radio for that matter it becomes a challenge as to what brand or radio should I choose. Well some of the decision making will come down to how much money can you spend. The word I am looking for is budget. We all have a certain amount of money we can spend unless we have won the lottery and I would not count on that.

If you are deciding on a ham radio to add to your ham shack I would check out websites like eham.net . There you will find reviews to all kinds of ham radios and ham radio equipment. I would defiantly pay attention to what other ham radio operators are saying. I know when I bought my mfj 993b automatic antenna tuner they were always speaking about the dreaded power button switch problem. Well I had that problem and replaced it as well about maybe 5 times. I got tired of it and replaced it with a toggle switch and it has not had the problem since then.

When it comes to the three main brands of ham radios, I tend to prefer Icom and yaesu over Kenwood. The funny part is I bought the kenwood ts2000. If your interested just click the link below and check it out.

due to all its awesome features. It's always funny how things work out. I have to admit that I do absolutely love the kenwood ts2000 and it works like a charm. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good choice in a ham radio. I do also like the other ham radios as well and love the big boxy look with all those buttons. I think my next ham radio may be yaesu, but it may be some time from now.

My advise is if you are starting out in the ham radio hobby I would look into maybe a ham radio made by Alinco. They making some really nice priced ham radios. The other possibility is to buy a hf all band mobile and set it up for base use as well as mobile use. All the different manufactures make ham radios that fit this class and prices to vary. I would suggest searching through the different ham radio stores and find a ham radio you like.

Check out the video below from Ham Nation. It is a few years old, but may provide some help.

Ham Nation 21: What Radio Should I Buy? by TWiT Netcast Network

My next

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page